Double negatives


Don't make me use these.

Hey there Conan

Can you do a bit on double negatives?  It bugs the crap out of me when people say stuff like

I didn’t go nowhere
I don’t got nothing
I didn’t do nothing

~Cheryl


Dearest Cheryl: I am happy, naturally, to correct others’ speech as well as their writing. Nothing gives me more pleasure.

Your ally in correctness,

~Conan

So you out there — when you use double negatives, you’re saying the opposite of what you meant to say: I didn’t go nowhere means I went somewhere. Now, don’t make me get out my ruler and rap your knuckles. Cut it out and do your bit to lower Cheryl’s blood pressure. I thank you.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

